Overview
Hard Disk Drives, Removable Media Drives, SSDs, Memory Cards and more

Besides hard disk drives and SSDs HDDRIVER supports removable media drives, e.g. drives by Syquest, ZIP, JAZ, DVD+RW, DVD-RAM, GigaFile or UltraSatan. Media changes are detected automatically and reliably.
HDDRIVER provides optimal support for memory cards like SD and CF, which are an inexpensive and noiseless alternative to hard disk drives.

Compatibility

In terms of compatibility HDDRIVER sets standards. Drives or memory cards with any capacity are supported. With the ST/STE in order to use more than the first GiB of SCSI drives a suitable host adapter is required. Since TOS, MagiC and MiNT do not access media based on the SCSI Driver, in practice the usable capacity is limited to 2 TiB (2048 GiB). The SCSI Driver (and tools like HDDRUTIL and DISKUS) support 64 bit sector numbers and thus can access larger drives.
HDDRIVER is backwards compatible with Atari's hard disk driver AHDI and therefore guarantees highest compatibility with other applications.

Speed

HDDRIVER is coded in pure 68000 and 68030 assembler and offers unique settings in order to boost transfer rates and the boot process. ACSI and IDE drives profit from special options for extra fast data transfers. Owners of a Thunder IDE interface can boot HDDRIVER into TT-RAM, which considerably increases the IDE transfer rate. With HDDRIVER AUTO folder programs like FOLDRxxx, CACHExxx or SCSIDRV are unnecessary, which speeds up the boot process for all platforms. Because HDDRIVER can boot the AUTO folder and accessories from any partition, a boot selector is also often obsolete.

Data Exchange with PCs and Macs

With HDDRIVER it is child's play to exchange data with PCs (Windows XP and newer or Linux) and Macs. There is no need for any additional software. In combination with MagiC or MiNT exchanging data even works with long filenames and very big partitions (FAT32). Additionally, with MiNT and HDDRIVER it is possible to access Linux partitions (ext2). HDDRIVER supports both the legacy MBR (Master Boot Record) and the modern UEFI GUID Partition Table (GPT) partitioning scheme.

Backups and Copying

With the HDDRUTIL tool storage media can completely or partially be copied, e.g. in order to create backups or to exchange data. With many optical drives storing data on DVD-RAM, DVD+RW and BD-RE media, in particular for backups, is supported. Furthermore, complete media or single partitions can be saved as image files or loaded from image files.

Data Security

For HDDRIVER data security plays an important role. The data transferred are optionally verified in order to detect errors when writing data. Selected partitions can be write-protected, which is a good protection against accidential changes. Important areas of a drive (root sector and boot sectors) can separately be protected against unintentional changes. If a device supports a self-test, it can be triggered by simply a mouse-click.

Tools

HDDRIVER is more than just a driver. A set of tools with a modern graphical user interface complete the HDDRIVER distribution. Media can be formatted, devices can be configured, and self-tests can be executed. Drives can be parked and media ejected, the password-based read/write protection of ZIP/JAZ drives can be configured, and much more. Besides the HDDRUTIL tool an ACC and CPX modules provide for conveniently controlling numerous settings, without you having to be a hard disk wizard.

SCSI Driver and XHDI Interface

Unified access to peripherals is realized by the SCSI Driver integrated in HDDRIVER. This important software interface for Atari compatibles, which is not limited to SCSI devices only, is used by a range of other drivers and applications. SATA devices innately use SCSI commands anyway, for IDE drives HDDRIVER emulates them. This enables any application to access IDE, ATAPI and SATA drives as if they were SCSI devices. HDDRIVER's SCSI Driver supports 64 bit sector numbers for all buses, so that with the SCSI Driver drives > 2 TiB (2048 GiB) can be addressed with their full capacity. Additionally, HDDRIVER supports the complete set of functions defined by the XHDI standard.
Applications can access many driver functions by using these two well-documented and standardized software interfaces.

Other Highlights

When running MagiC, MiNT or Big-DOS in combination with HDDRIVER you have access to more than 16 drives and to big partitions. Non-blocking data transfers with drives connected to the ACSI or SCSI bus result in increased speed when using HDDRIVER with MagiC, because you can work with your Atari while data are being transferred in the background.
Features like booting from any partition, SCSI initiator identification and bus arbitration (for a maximum of compatibility with the SCSI standard), automatically parking drives etc. can be taken for granted with HDDRIVER.

User Support and Documentation

The HDDRIVER distribution includes a detailed printed English or German manual. In case of problems or questions users get support by the FAQ, by email or in the HDDRIVER forum.

Überblick
Festplatten, Wechselplatten, SSDs, Speicherkarten und mehr

Neben Festplatten und SSDs unterstützt HDDRIVER auch Wechselplatten, beispielsweise Laufwerke von Syquest, ZIP, JAZ, DVD+RW-, DVD-RAM, GigaFile oder UltraSatan. Medienwechsel werden zuverlässig automatisch erkannt. Der Auswurf der Medien erfolgt je nach Desktop einfach per Tastendruck.
HDDRIVER bietet optimale Unterstützung für Speicherkarten wie SD und CF, die eine preisgünstige und lautlose Alternative zu Festplatten darstellen.

Kompatibilität

Bei der Kompatibilität setzt HDDRIVER Maßstäbe. Es werden Laufwerke oder Speicherkarten beliebiger Kapazität unterstützt. Beim ST/STE ist bei SCSI-Platten für die Nutzung von mehr als einem GiB Kapazität ein geeigneter Hostadapter Voraussetzung. Da TOS, MagiC und MiNT nicht per SCSI-Treiber auf Medien zugreifen, ist die in der Praxis nutzbare Kapazität auf 2 TiB (2048 GiB) beschränkt. Der SCSI-Treiber (und Tools wie HDDRUTIL und DISKUS) unterstützen 64-Bit-Sektornummern und können daher größere Laufwerke ansprechen.
HDDRIVER ist voll abwärtskompatibel zu Ataris Festplattentreiber AHDI und garantiert daher höchste Kompatibilität zu anderen Anwendungen.
Zahlreiche Emulatoren und Hardware-Erweiterungen werden unterstützt. Mit dem MonSTer-Board verwaltet HDDRIVER 2 IDE-Ports (bis zu 4 IDE/ATAPI/SATA-Geräte), mit The Doubler 4 IDE-Ports (bis zu 8 Geräte).

Datenaustausch mit PCs und Macs

Mit HDDRIVER ist der Datenaustausch mit PCs (Windows XP und neuer oder Linux) und Macs ein Kinderspiel. Hierzu wird keinerlei zusätzliche Software benötigt. Zusammen mit MagiC oder MiNT funktioniert der Datenaustausch sogar mit langen Dateinamen (FAT32). Mit MiNT und HDDRIVER ist außerdem der Zugriff auf Linux-Partitionen (ext2) möglich.

Datensicherung und Kopieren

Mit dem Dienstprogramm HDDRUTIL können Speichermedien ganz oder teilweise kopiert werden, beispielsweise für Backups oder zum Datenaustausch. Mit vielen optischen Laufwerken lassen sich Daten insbesondere für Backup-Zwecke auf DVD-RAM-, DVD+RW- und BD-RE-Medien sichern. Außerdem lassen sich komplette Medien oder einzelne Partitionen als Images speichern sowie aus Images laden.

Datensicherheit

Datensicherheit wird bei HDDRIVER groß geschrieben. Auf Wunsch werden die übertragenen Daten verifiziert, um Fehler beim Schreiben zu erkennen. Einzelne Partitionen lassen sich schreibschützen, was einen guten Schutz gegen versehentliche Änderungen darstellt. Wichtige Bereiche einer Platte (Rootsektor und Bootsektoren) lassen sich separat vor ungewollten Veränderungen schützen. Sofern ein Gerät einen Selbsttest unterstützt, kann dieser einfach per Mausklick gestartet werden.

Dienstprogramme

HDDRIVER ist mehr als nur ein Treiber. Zahlreiche Dienstprogramme mit moderner grafischer Benutzeroberfläche ergänzen den Lieferumfang von HDDRIVER. Medien können formatiert, Geräte konfiguriert und Selbsttests ausgeführt werden. Laufwerke können geparkt und Medien ausgeworfen werden, der paßwortgesteuerte Schreib-/Leseschutz von ZIP-/JAZ-Laufwerke lässt sich konfigurieren, und vieles mehr. Neben dem Dienstprogramm HDDRUTIL erlauben ein ACC und CPX-Module die komfortable Steuerung zahlreicher Einstellungen, ohne dass Sie ein Festplatten-Experte sein müssen.

SCSI-Treiber und XHDI-Schnittstelle

Die einheitliche Ansteuerung von Peripheriegeräten erlaubt der in HDDRIVER integrierte SCSI-Treiber. Diese wichtige Software-Schnittstelle für Atari-Kompatible, die nicht auf SCSI-Geräte beschränkt ist, wird von diversen anderen Treibern und Anwendungen genutzt. SATA-Geräte unterstützen SCSI-Kommandos von Haus aus, für IDE-Laufwerke werden sie von HDDRIVER emuliert, So können beliebige Anwendungen IDE, ATAPI- und SATA-Laufwerke wie SCSI-Geräte ansprechen. HDDRIVERs SCSI-Treiber unterstützt 64-Bit-Sektornummern für alle Busse, so dass Laufwerke > 2 TiB (2048 GiB) per SCSI-Treiber in ihrer vollen Kapazität angesprochen werden können. HDDRIVER unterstützt außerdem den gesamten Funktionsumfang des XHDI-Standards.
Anwendungsprogramme können viele Treiberfunktionen über diese beiden gut dokumentierten und standardisierten Software-Schnittstellen direkt nutzen.

Andere Glanzpunkte

Falls Sie MagiC, MiNT oder Big-DOS einsetzen, stehen Ihnen mit HDDRIVER mehr als 16 Laufwerke sowie große Partitionen zur Verfügung. Die nicht blockierende Datenübertragung bei Platten am ACSI- und SCSI-Bus sorgt mit MagiC und HDDRIVER für ein Plus an Geschwindigkeit, denn Sie können mit Ihrem Atari weiter arbeiten, während im Hintergrund die Datenübertragung läuft.
Funktionen wie das Booten von beliebigen Partitionen, SCSI-Initiator-Identifizierung und -Bus-Arbitrierung (für maximale Kompatibilität zum SCSI-Standard), automatisches Parken von Platten etc. sind für HDDRIVER selbstverständlich.

Anwender-Unterstützung und Dokumentation

Der Lieferumfang von HDDRIVER beinhaltet ein ausführliches gedrucktes deutsches oder englisches Handbuch. Bei Problemen oder Fragen erhalten Anwender Unterstützung durch die FAQ, per E-Mail oder im HDDRIVER-Forum.